Release date: February 3rd

Rather than strive for some artistic progress when working on these pieces, I allowed myself to simply follow my inclinations, to see where they led. The first piece completed in this venture was “Oblong”, and its irregularity roughly characterizes the album as whole. It is evident that those inclinations were for asymmetric shapes and elongated lyrics.

While the pieces were composed individually, there are some shared characteristics. The instrumental pieces tend to feature irregular time signatures and/or unequal phrase lengths. The lyrics incline to the narrative, without logical constraints. The two major songs – “Uncoil” and “The cauldron” – are set as suites with contrasting musical sections, with somewhat existential themes.

LJ Mounteney – vocals and joyful noises
Buff Allen – drums and percussion
Trevor Tunnacliffe – other instruments